By heart, and not by rote


http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/poem/179622#.Vp2oMM-aHWc.maillto

Poetry Foundation

[i carry your heart with me(i carry it in]
BY E. E. CUMMINGS
i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

© 2015 Poetry Foundation


You know, the melody is so strong there’s nothing you have to do with it. If you tried to play bebop on it, you’d wind up being a hip cornbagrown same thing, I have to do now is make things connect, make them mean something in what I play around it.

—Miles Davis, on “Concierto de Aranjuez” from Sketches of Spain

By heart, and not by rote
An Exquisite Duet

Because you want to know
How much I love you, so_
That’s, I learnt it by heart and not by rote
Your name, down a parchment I wrote
That never whithered away
My name, on the sands of the beach you wrote
Was washed by the sea salt rolling in
Then again watching the tide rolling away

I Carry It in with me, wherever I go
and by rote I learnt through
the whispers into the ears of the wind
your name I carry it in my mind
Hither and thither, whether l am calling you
and the mountains echoe

On the string, encores et encore
the violin worn out its bow
That’s I miss you too
Like the ocean miss the shore
It recalls into memory
Where it lives
And my mind never leaves
This piece of poetry.
I wrote it longtime ago
on the sands of the road
at an age I were worry free.
Now that’s gone with the wind
I say it low

It’s here the deeper in my heart
Where jadis It took its roots
As a young love going its way
grown up and spree
To the moon making its route
I carry your heart, I carry it in
In my heart, at the soul of my soul,
A branded name like a tattoo
I show it to the world
How much I love you too

I carry it in my way
to the light, a thousand suns,
You are the sky, where it lays
Settled on a rainbow
For, a star had made my day
the night It came to my window,
and since then, it never dies

I made you a soul of my Soul
The day of wonders, we met.
Near the fire we set
Outside, it was nice and cool
Snow falling on pine tree
The moment, when I wrote
This piece of poetry

I kept it silent until now
That you listen to me
Stay with me, Sway with me
Something is the air, This melody
while the violin gently weeps
On the  string_ I tell you how
It worn its hair, the bow.
When The wind will sing it for you

Speak, Memories in deed
It’s how for you I kept
And I didn’t say a word
And longtime wept
I didn’t declare to the world
Because you want to know
How much love I love you
For, now your eyes only can read

_Kamal Kouba, “Because your want to know”©

“Here’s the deepest secret nobody knows
I carry your heart with me(I carry it in
My heart) wherever I go”_* E.E. Cummings

Published by

Kalimelo

I am an autodidact writer, and enough of an artist, to draw upon my imagination_I can't pretend here, to imitate Einstein's expression, nor to profess having enough knowledge of that sort, credit is, where credits due, noblety obliged, nor to build equations, or lost gravity, still having this audacity to emitate Mr. Einstein one's expression is a crime of Lese-majeste, and to not for being an imbued person, first, pardon my intrusive Introduction, but isn't it an imitating someone, the same like of gardening and planting coliflowers? Maybe Orchids... Secondo, I just have borrowed his quote _"knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world ", for the pumps and circumstance, and just for the sake blogging, put it that way down to paper, and to fancy make an old dream of mine comes true, perhaps one day, and if time permitting, a would-be a writer and having enough ingredients for writing prose and possibly poetry _Thankful always to my reader for stopping by, and To all the followers: Thank you for following my blog, regularly, and by your likes on my posts, you're encouraging me each time, to persist and strive to do better for blogging than the sensational, and to take the risk to be boring sometimes ; please send me your feeds Thanks you again extra large for your patience _Modestly speaking: _Inspirational Dr. Seuss's quote: _“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And You are the one who’ll decide where to go.” ― Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

